World Championship Ireland 2009

On 17th-19th July 2009, Horse Sport Ireland and Teagasc had offered to host the Young Breeders' World Championships.
The championships took place at Teagasc's, Kildalton College, Piltown, Co. Kilkenny.

ireland_pic1WBFSH Young Breeders World Championships 2009
The WBFSH Young Breeders World Championships were hosted by Horse Sport Ireland and Teagasc at Kildalton College, Piltown, Co. Kilkenny on Friday and Saturday, the 17th and 18th of July. The competition comprised 17 different stud books from Europe and countries as far away as Canada.
The overall winning studbook was the Pferdezuchtverband Brandenburg-Anhalt with a very impressive total of 2158 marks. First place in the senior section also went to the Pferdezuchtverband Brandenburg-Anhalt, the team comprised of David Bahnemann, Claudia Constabel and Viktoria Herzog.
Second place went to the Swiss Warmblood team of Cahrmaine á Wengan, Natalie Koch and Sonja Zahnd and third place was taken by the Irish Sport Horse team comprised of Jean Meagher, David Bourke and Áine Geoghegan.

  Overall winning studbook was the
Pferdezuchtverband Brandenburg-Anhalt.


In the junior section the Westfälisches Pferdestammbuch e.V. (WESTF) took first place, the team comprised of Gregor Bensmann, Ricarda Schlüter and Christina Len.

The Hannoveraner Verband e.V took second with their team of Meta Christmann, Leonie Fischer and Kristina Gehrdau-Schroder and the Pferdezuchtverband Brandenburg-Anhalt took third place with their team of Lisa Wachtel, Sophie Wachtel and Hans-Martin Michaelis.

The best individual competitors were also recognised with David Bahnemann being named as the best individual senior competitor achieving a total of 366 marks and excelling in the loose gaits and jumping section, while Ricarda Schulter took the best individual junior award on 367 marks, excelling in the theory section.

This competition has developed enormously since its introduction in Germany in 2001 and involves a theory test, judging horses on gaits and loose jumping, assessing the conformation of mares and presenting a horse in hand. Competitors had a wonderful opportunity to represent their studbook while competing against their peers and it is a great learning experience and a valuable way to make friends and contacts in other countries.
Alison Corbally, HSI Director of Breeding & Programmes said: “I would like to thank Teagasc for hosting the event in Kildalton College, the facilities and hospitality were superb and ensured that the event ran very smoothly and was enjoyed by all. Particular thanks are due to the Teagasc Equine Advisory team for their role in training the Irish young breeders and hosting the event and Rosemary Gaffney and her team who sourced, produced and turned out approximately 30 horses to an exceptional level for the event”.
Horse Sport Ireland would also like to thank the judges for the event: Mr Tiernan Gill, Mr Olaf Hagemann, Mr Patrick Hester, Ms Jane Bech Jensen, Mr Marcel Koch, Ms Susan Minion and Mr Tom Slattery.

icon_galeriemore pictures in our gallery...

pdfResults Championships 2009

pdfDetailed results YBCH 2009